alaskafoodmom

Food made easy for busy moms.

Irish Eggs May 14, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Comfort Food,Vegetarian — alaskafoodmom @ 11:26 am
Tags: , , ,

I was recently flipping through a Martha Stewart Living magazine at the dentist office and came across a beautiful picture of eggs with tomatoes and melted cheese. I glanced at the recipe very briefly and tried to make a mental note of the name of the recipe, which I thought was Eggs a la Kevin. However, when I returned home and searched the website I came up with a dish that was completely different from what I had envisioned. Either Martha is getting very good at hiding her recipes on her website or I had a complete mental block on what I thought I had read. Either way I came up with this version which turned out to be very good. My husband even gave it a shot and said he liked it. I gave it the name Irish Eggs because I used one of my favorite cheeses, Kerrygold Aged Cheddar Cheese, which is imported from Ireland. You can locate it at your local grocery store in the imported/specialty cheese section. Feel free to play around with the types of tomatoes you use. Heirloom varieties from the Farmer’s Market would be delicious in this and would give it some great color. You also don’t have to use full size tomatoes, cherry tomatoes sliced in half would be yummy as well.

1 tablespoon butter (please don’t substitute margarine, it’s not the same)
2 eggs (see Thoughts for the Day on buying eggs)
1 tomato sliced
Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
Aged white cheddar cheese, thinly sliced

Preheat oven broiler on high. Move oven rack to within 6 inches of heater element. In a small oven proof saute pan heated over medium heat, melt butter until bubbly. Add in whole eggs taking care to not break the yolk. Cook until the egg whites just start to turn white. Nestle the sliced tomatoes on top of the eggs between the yolks. Season with salt and pepper. Top with sliced cheese and place into the oven. Cook until the cheese is melted and slightly golden, about 2-3 minutes. Be sure to watch the eggs, as you don’t want to overcook them and you will want a runny yolk. Serve with sliced artisan garlic bread that has been toasted.

 

3 Responses to “Irish Eggs”

  1. Janel Walton Says:

    OK, it looks unusual, but this was whipped up for me by the chef herself, and it is so yummy! I usually shy away from cooked tomatoes on a dish, (ie on pizza) but this was wonderful. Give it a try for a break for the usual breakfast fare.

  2. These eggs look absolutely delicious, I have to make them if I can find some good cheese at my local market.

    The picture looks amazing!

    James


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.