alaskafoodmom

Food made easy for busy moms.

Pear, Pecan, and Blue Cheese Salad May 24, 2011

Filed under: Salads,Vegetarian — alaskafoodmom @ 5:47 pm
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes the best things are the most simple things. This salad is super easy to put together and really shines with some key ingredients. I prefer to use organic ingredients whenever possible. The dressing is a very simple drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and reduced balsamic vinegar. If you haven’t discoved this amazing reduction in a bottle yet, I would highly suggest you run to the store and locate it. http://www.balsamicsauce.com/ It is well worth the price and I use it for a quick dressing on salads, over blanched asparagus, roasted pork tenderloin, grilled chicken, really just about everything I can think of really. It is my new obsession.

Organic baby spring lettuce mix
Organic pears, thinly sliced
Red onion, thinly sliced
Blue cheese or feta cheese, crumbled
Pecans or walnuts, lightly roasted in a dry pan over medium heat
Cucumbers, sliced (optional)
Extra virgin olive oil
Balsamic sauce
Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper to taste.

 

4 Responses to “Pear, Pecan, and Blue Cheese Salad”

  1. Melinda Says:

    Looks delicious – will soon be trying it out

  2. akcuisine Says:

    I’ve seen the balsamic sauce at the store, but passed over it because I thought it was a gimmick. My concern is that it won’t taste as good as the “real” balsamic that you slowly reduce from high-quality vinegar. Do you think it’s on the same level, or is it just an acceptable short-cut? Thanks.

    • Great question. I did feel that it delivered on the taste and the quality, especially for someone in a hurry. I am very partial to my aged balsamic vinegar and I love this product. Give a try and let me know what you think.

  3. Janel Walton Says:

    Loved that basalmic and the salad was delicious!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.